The Honorary Committee

The Honorary Committee 2023

A honorary committee is an important part of every traditional Viennese ball. With their participation, the members of this honorary committee emphasize the excellence, diversity and internationality of Vienna’s universities and research institutions. All rectors and directors of all universities, private universities, universities of applied sciences are part of the honorary committee, as well as the presidents of ÖAW, ISTA, IIASA and Wolfgang Pauli Institute. They represent the valuable contribution of scientists and researchers, teaching staff and students to the social climate and intellectual capital, towards a culture of enlightenment and a cosmopolitan atmosphere, in short – towards a tolerant spirit in this city.


Univ.Prof.Dr. Alexander Van der Bellen
Federal Preisdent of the Republic of Austria

Chair of the Board of Honour

Dr. Michael Ludwig
Mayor of Vienna

Chairs of the Honorary Committee

ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Polaschek
Federal Minister für Eduaction, Science and Research

Leonore Gewessler, BA
Federal Minister for Environment, Energy and Infrastructure

Dr. Johannes Hahn
EU Commissioner for Budget and Administration

Board of Honour

Christoph Wiederkehr, MA
Deputy Mayor and City Councillor for  Education, Youth, Integration and Transparency

Mag.ª Veronica Kaup-Hasler
City Councillor for Arts and Science

Honorary committee

1) Prof. Dr. Johan Frederik Hartle
Rektor der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

2) Prof. Shalini Randeria
Präsidentin und Rektorin der Central European University (CEU)

3) Mag. Nikolaus Schermann
E-Learning Group

4) Rektor (FH) Prof. (FH) Mag. Dr. Andreas Breinbauer
Fachhochschule des BFI Wien GmbH

5) FH-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Heimo Sandtner
Rektor der Fachhochschule Campus Wien

6) Rektorin FH-Prof. Dr. Sylvia Geyer
Rektorin der Fachhochschule Technikum Wien

7) Geschäftsführer Ing. Mag. (FH) Michael Heritsch, MSc
Fachhochschule Wien der WKW

8) Dr. Albert van Jaarsweld
Director General & CEO, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)

9) Prof. Martin Hetzer
Präsident des Institute of Science and Technology Austria

10) Mag. Marcus Ratka
Rektor der JAM MUSIC LAB Private University

11) MMag. Dr. Hubert Philipp Weber
Rektor der Kirchlich-Pädagogische Hochschule Wien/Krems

12) Alexander Zirkler
Executive Director Lauder Business School

13) Univ.-Prof. Dr. Markus Müller
Rektor der Medizinischen Universität Wien

MU LOGO - Copy
14) Prof. Dr. Karl Wöber
Rektor MODUL University Vienna
Vorsitzender der österreichischen Privatuniversitäten Konferenz (ÖPUK)

15) Dr. Andreas Mailath-Pokorny
Rektor der Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität der Stadt Wien

16) Univ.-Prof. Dr. Heinz Fassmann
Präsident der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

17) Mag. Dr. Barbara Herzog-Punzenberger
Rektorin der Pädagogischen Hochschule Wien

18) Univ.Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Alfred Pritz
Rektor der Sigmund Freud Privatuniversität

19) techn. Sabine Seidler
Rektorin der Technischen Universität Wien

20) Dr. Gerald Bast
Rektor der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien

21) MMag.a Eva Schulev-Steindl
Rektorin der Universität für Bodenkultur

22) Mag.a art. Ulrike Sych
Rektorin der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien

23) Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sebastian Schütze
Rektor der Universität Wien

24) Petra Winter
Rektorin der Veterinärmedizinischen Universität Wien

25) Prof. Dr. Johannes Pollak
Director Webster Vienna Private University

26) Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger
Rektorin der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien

27) o.Univ.Prof. Dr. Georg Gottlob FRS,
Präsident des Wolfgang Pauli Institutes